Kathmandu, Oct. 16: The 37th annual general assembly of Trekking Agencies’ Association of Nepal (TAAN) has elected a new working committee under the leadership of Chandra Prasad Rijal.

Rijal, a contender from the progressive alliance, was elected the chairman of TAAN by defeating his rival Sagar Pandey. Rijal got 411 votes while Pandey secured 322 votes in the vote counts completed last night.

Media Coordinator of TAAN Machhindra Acharya said that the team Rijal won 15 seats in the 17-member working committee of TAAN.

Likewise, Tasi Lakpa Sherpa was elected the senior vice chairperson while Tej Prasad Gurung as the first vice chairman.

Likewise, Karna Bahadur Lama, Mukti Pandey, Lilaballav Dahal and Krishna Man Shrestha were elected the general secretary, secretary, treasurer and joint-treasurer, respectively.

After his victory, newly elected chairman Rijal has pledged unity and coordination among the members by making the TAAN further professional.

As high as 1,000 trekking companies are associated with the TAAN, it is said.

Earlier, Nepali Congress senior leader and former prime minister Sher Bahadur Deuba had inaugurated the annual general assembly of the TAAN on Thursday. RSS